Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Ten Professional Jockeys Appeal

Ten  Professional  Jockeys  Appeal
Galway, 10th September, 2006

The Appeals Body, Mr. J.R. Craigie (in the Chair), Mr. Michael J. Doyle and Mr. J.O.T. Hughes, met at the Stand House Hotel, The Curragh, Co. Kildare, on Thursday, 5th October, 2006, to consider appeals lodged by professional jockeys A.P. Lane, R.M. Power, D.N. Russell, D.F. O’Regan, P. Carberry, B.J. Geraghty, A.J. McNamara, R. Walsh, P.W. Flood and J.R. Barry, against the decision of the Acting Stewards at Galway on 10th September, 2006, when following the running of the Cunningham Higgins Specialist Cars Handicap Hurdle, the Stewards, following an enquiry, fined the ten jockeys €200 each for a breach of Rule 272.  Evidence was heard from A.J.McNamara, B.J.Geraghty, R.M.Power, R.Walsh , Mr A.Shaw, Handicapper, Mr. Lorcan Wyer, Stewards Secretary on duty, and Mr. J.R. Banahan, Starter, and a film of the start was also viewed.  

Having considered the evidence the Appeals Body found that the riders by their conduct and behaviour acted in a manner prejudicial to the good reputation of horse racing and as a consequence were in breach of Rule 272. The riders were each fined €200 and had their deposits forfeited.

The riders were represented by Mr. Eugene Gleeson, SC, instructed by Mr. Andrew Coonan, Coonan Cawley Solicitors, Naas, Co. Kildare, and the case was presented to the Committee by Mr. Stephen Lanigan O’Keeffe, SC, instructed by Mr. Brian Price, Wilkinson and Price Solicitors, Naas, Co. Kildare.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.