Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Bellewstown 23rd August 2022

The Stewards authorised the following substitutions of riders at this meeting:

R. J. Condon replaced Kevin A Murphy on Gaudriole (FR), trained by Nigel Thomas Slevin (Race 2)(stood down)
D. F. O'Regan rode Outa Karney (reserve) trained by Muredach Kelly (Race 6)

250A Whiteriver Wood Flooring Claiming H'dle

The Stewards requested a report from Gordon Elliott, trainer as to the apparent improvement in form of Wicklow Flyer, placed first, as compared with its recent run at Cork on August 1st 2022, where she pulled up on that occasion. Mr Elliott stated that the ground was good to yielding at cork on its previous run and todays faster going conditions helped bring about her improvement in form. Having considered the evidence the Stewards noted the content of the report.

250B RED MILLS Irish EBF Auction M'dn H'dle

J.W. Kennedy, rider of Sycamore Grey trained by Gordon Elliott, reported to the Clerk of the Scales that his mount never travelled and was pulled up.

250C Gerry Cromwell Memorial (Mares) Hurdle

K.M. Donoghue, rider of Jeremys Flame trained by Gavin Cromwell, reported to the Clerk of the Scales that his mount did not handle todays going.

250G Avison Young (Ladies) (Pro-Am) Flat Race

The Stewards interviewed Miss A.B. O'Connor, rider of Duncreevan, concerning her use of the whip in closing stages of this race. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned. Miss A.B. O'Connor accepted she was in breach of R 10 and apologised for her actions. Having viewed a recording of the race and considered the evidence the Stewards found Miss O'Connor in breach of Regulation 10 3(g) and having considered her record they cautioned Miss O'Connor on this occasion.

Miss S. Doyle, rider of Batting Bay trained by N Dooly, reported to the Clerk of the Scales that her mount was injured during this race, causing her to fall.

Miss S. Ahern, rider of Wee Valerie trained by Hugh Paul Finegan, reported to the Clerk of the Scales that her mount was hampered in running.


The following Raceday Stewards acted on behalf of the Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board at this race meeting:
Mr. Peter Law (Chairman),
Mr. John Martin Smith,
Mr. William Flood,
Mr. Laurence McFerran,
Mr. Hugh Hynes.

Disclaimer: Please note this information is provisional and is subject to amendment until published in the Irish Racing Calendar.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.