Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Nicholas Wachman Becomes Senior Steward of The Turf Club


Nicholas Wachman today became Senior Steward of the Turf Club for a two year term until 18th December 2009.  He replaces Pierce Molony who retires having completed two terms in the position.  Mr. Wachman whose appointment was ratified by Members of the Turf Club at the July General Meeting had previously been Deputy Senior Steward since December 2005.  Prior to his appointment as Deputy Senior Steward Mr. Wachman served on the Appeals and Referrals, Finance and Curragh Committees.  He was originally appointed a Member of the Turf Club in 1994         and of the Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee in 2000.

Mr. Wachman is succeeded as Deputy Senior Steward by John McStay.  Mr. McStay who was appointed a Member of the Turf Club in 1995 is the current Chairman of the Curragh Committee.

Ms. Mary O’Connor also becomes a Steward of the Turf Club today replacing Mrs. Sonia Rogers who retires.  Ms. O’Connor was appointed a Member of the Turf Club in 1998.

Editors Note:

1. Mr. Nicholas Wachman, Mr. John McStay and Ms. Mary O’Connor will also represent the Turf Club on the Board of Horse Racing Ireland.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.