Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Roscommon 8th July 2019

The Stewards fined the following trainer in respect of their non-runner:-

J. S. Bolger, trainer of Smart Living (off feed) - €200

The Stewards authorised the following substitutions of riders at this meeting:

D.O'Brien replaced S.M. Crosse on Downdraft, trained by Joseph Patrick O'Brien (Race 6)(Stewards permission).

175C SuperValu's Roscommon Apprentice H'cap

The Stewards received a report from Ms. Coleen Murphy, Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board Clerk of the Scales, regarding the fact that S.P. Bird, rider of Building Year, had weighed in at 1.1 lbs overweight. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned, who accepted that this was the case. Having considered the evidence, the Stewards were satisfied that S.P. Bird was in breach of Rule 231 and having considered his record, they cautioned him on this occasion.

J.P. Shinnick, rider of Beau Rocko, trained by Adrian McGuinness, reported to the Stewards' Secretaries that his saddle slipped early in this race.

175E Roscommon Herald H'cap

The Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board Veterinary Officer examined Sky Seven, trained by M.Halford, at the request of the Stewards and reported the animal to be post race normal.

M.Halford, trainer of Sky Seven, reported to the Stewards' Secretaries that his charge didn't handle the bends and found the ground in the straight a little too quick.

175F Lenebane Stakes

The Stewards enquired into possible interference in the closing stages involving Downdraft, ridden by D.O'Brien, placed first and Massif Central, ridden by C.T. Keane, placed second, where it appeared Downdraft drifted in the closing stages. Evidence was heard from the riders concerned. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered the evidence, the Stewards made no alteration to the Judge's placings and took no further action.


The following Raceday Stewards acted on behalf of the Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board at this race meeting:
Mr. Derek Pugh (Chairman),
Mr. P.J. O'Connor,
Mr. Paddy Dunican,
Mr. Michael Maloney,
Mr. P.D. Matthews.

Disclaimer: Please note this information is provisional and is subject to amendment until published in the Irish Racing Calendar.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.