Protecting the Integrity & Reputation of Irish Horseracing

Integrity Portal

Thurles 12th November 2018

The Stewards authorised the following substitutions of riders at this meeting:

S.W. Flanagan replaced R.M. Power on Belle West, trained by W.J. Burke (Race 4)(injured)
A.W. Short replaced C.D. Maxwell on Court Adjourned, trained by Dermot Anthony McLoughlin (Race 6)(injured)

389B Thurles H'cap S'chase

R. Loughran, rider of Alice Johnston trained by Padraig Roche, reported to the Clerk of Scales that his mount never travelled.

A.E. Lynch, rider of Templemichael trained by David Kenneth Budds, reported to the Clerk of Scales that his mount made a mistake.

389C M'dn H'dle

The Stewards interviewed S.W. Flanagan, rider of Apocalypse after it appeared that his mount jumped a hurdle prior to the start of this race. Evidence was heard from the rider concerned, who accepted that this was the case, but stated that when easing his mount to view the demonstration hurdle, the animal was distracted by a runner cantering by and subsequently jumped the hurdle in the center of the track. Having considered the evidence, the Stewards were of the opinion that S.W. Flanagan was in breach of Rule 205(ii) and having considered his record, they cautioned him on this occasion.

389G Go Racing at Thurles INH Flat Race

The Stewards enquired into an incident leaving the back straight involving Kilbeg Bernie, ridden by Miss S. Ahern, placed fifth and Miss Shoe City (FR), ridden by Mr P.W. Mullins, placed fourth, where it appeared Miss Shoe City (FR) ran short of room on the rail. Evidence was heard from the riders concerned. Having viewed the recording of the race and considered the evidence, the Stewards were satisfied that the incident was accidental and took no further action.

Miss S. Ahern, rider of Kilbeg Bernie trained by Thomas P. Cummins, reported to the Clerk of Scales that her mount hung right.


The following Raceday Stewards acted on behalf of the Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board at this race meeting:
Mr. John Murphy (Chairman),
Mr. Michael O'Driscoll,
Mrs. J.O. Onions,
Mr. John Powell,
Mr. H.T. Hynes.

Disclaimer: Please note this information is provisional and is subject to amendment until published in the Irish Racing Calendar.

Copyright © 2018, I.H.R.B, All Rights Reserved.